This blog often contains uncomfortable subject matter and occasional sexual content. If you don't want to read about it, empower yourself to close the page.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

AJ

I have a coworker named AJ. He's in his forties, very involved with his church, and rumored to be bisexual, but ashamed of it. He says shit like "Happy Friday!" to me because he knows it annoys me, and he thinks it's funny. When he sees me with food, he asks, "What did you bring me for lunch?" or "Is that my breakfast?" or "Where's my snack?" Also because it annoys me, and because he thinks it's funny.

I have made a habit of making faces at him when I pass his desk on days when I'm in a good mood. On days when I'm not in a good mood, he notices and leaves a sticky note on my keyboard when I'm away from my desk. The note is usually snack-related, although sometimes on Fridays it says "Happy Friday!" I have not been making very many faces lately, and he has been leaving me a lot of notes.

It's annoying when people try to cheer me up, as if cracking a few worn out jokes are going to make me not hate myself, as if it were that simple. But I'm glad someone sees how I feel, and wants me to be happy. It really means a lot. So, maybe it does make me hate myself a little less, after all. Or at least reminds me that someone likes me.

7:45 p.m. - 2014-01-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries: